Tele-learning session: Students and the Social Economy presented by the Canadian Social Economy Hub

You are here


Telelearning Session 6: Students and the Social Economy

How do students become engaged in studies related to the Social Economy? What support do they require? How do they access information and resources? How do they make the transition from researchers to practitioners, or vice versa? Do student researchers at social economy organizations view their work as simple employment, or as training for their future careers, or... both?

To explore the answers to these questions and more, join Jean-Marc Fontan, professor of sociology at the University of Québec at Montréal, and Lena Soots, graduate student at Simon Fraser University, in this stimulating telelearning session!

Call Logistics:

Session Date: Thursday, February 14, 2008

  • Call begins at 9:30 am PST, 10:30 am MST, 11:30 am CST, 12:30 pm EST, 1:30 pm AST, and 2 pm NST
  • Call in information will be given upon registration
  • Register before February 12 to obtain dial-in information and background papers
  • This session is in English; the next session will be in French
  • Session Format: 1 Hour
  • Welcome: 5 minutes

Presentations: 10 minutes from each speaker
Discussion: 35 minutes

There are a limited number of spaces available, so register soon!

telelearning@socialeconomyhub.ca
Telephone (250) 472-4976

Please provide us with your name, location, contact information, and work or volunteer position. We will provide instructions on how to access the telelearning forum. Unfortunately, the session is only open to those residing in Canada.

Canadian Social Economy Hub / Centre canadien d'économie sociale