Sustainable Tourism: Communities Growing their Economies while Safeguarding the Environment in Canada and Internationally

You are here


Tuesday May 1, 2012
1:00pm Atlantic, 12:00 pm Eastern, 11:00 am Central, 10:00 am Mountain, 9:00 am Pacific

International Committee Webinar Session
Register TODAY and join us to learn about how Sustainable Tourism is supporting communities growing their economies while safeguarding the environment in Canada and internationally.

 

[Register here]

BACKGROUND

Tourism has a major impact on economies, cultures and the environment. It often destroys cultures, communities and natural habitat but it can be a vehicle to build communities while increasing pride in local culture, improving the local economy and helping to protect local habitat. This webinar will share examples of sustainable tourism development here and abroad. We will see how Indigenous communities in Canada help empower local communities by utilizing an Indigenous approach to tourism.

SPEAKERS:

International perspective: Michael Campbell of University of Manitoba will present on his prestigious Skål International award winning project that offers tourists a chance to spy mountain gorillas in their natural habitat in Uganda. Working with Makerere University and the Uganda Wildlife Authority, they’ve established a master’s program in wildlife tourism and recreation management. Uganda now trains its own people to manage an industry that accounts for 50% of the country’s GDP.

Canadian perspective: Clinton Belcher, President and CEO of CES, will share his work with First Nation communities in Canada, particularly Quebec. From over 15 years of experience, CES has developed the Pando Terra™ Model, which creates an organic approach to sustainable tourism development. Stories of this model being used in Eeyou Istchee – the traditional territory of the James Bay Cree in Quebec - will be shared. This model empowers, encourages and supports the community and its members first, knowing that sustainable tourism development will follow.

Moderator: Jessica Braun, CES
A question and answer period will follow.

SESSION LOGISTICS:

  • Date: May 1, 2012
  • Webinar begins at 12:00 pm Eastern time, 9:00 am Pacific time
  • Participation is free
  • Register by April 29 to obtain connection information and additional resources.
  • This session is in English.

REGISTRATION:

[Register here] 

Please share this invitation with anyone you think would be interested.

For more information about the Canadian CED Network, please visit: http://www.ccednet-rcdec.ca/

For more information about the CCCEDNet International Committee and to view  previous webinars, please visit http://www.ccednet-rcdec.ca/en/our_work/international


The Canadian CED Network’s International Committee webinar series is made possible in partnership with Uniterra http://www.uniterra.ca