Government of Canada Announces Advisory Committee on Poverty

October 2, 2017

Government of CanadaIn support of the Government of Canada’s commitment to developing a Canadian Poverty Reduction Strategy, the Honourable Jean‑Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development recently announced members of a new Ministerial Advisory Committee on Poverty, which brings together a diverse group of 17 leaders, academic experts and practitioners working in the field of poverty reduction, and individuals who have experienced poverty first-hand, to provide expert advice on poverty-related issues.

Chosen from over 400 nominations from across Canada and internationally, the Committee members will provide advice and input to the Minister on a range of poverty-related issues that will in turn inform the Canadian Poverty Reduction Strategy. As part of its role, the Committee will act as a forum for information sharing and independent discussion on poverty and poverty reduction.

The Advisory Committee on Poverty is one of the many initiatives that the Government of Canada is undertaking to support the development of a Canadian Poverty Reduction Strategy to improve the economic well-being of all Canadian families. From February to August, Minister Duclos led a nationwide consultation process to engage with Canadians on key issues related to poverty. Canadians were invited to participate in the online discussion to have their say on how to reduce poverty, as well as through in-person roundtables and town hall events.

Follow them on Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date with the latest activities about the Committee’s initiatives to reduce poverty with #ReducePoverty

Members of the Advisory Committee on Poverty

  • Bee Lee Soh, Community Food Champion with the Toronto Food Policy Council​
  • Brenda MurphySocial Justice advocate with the SJ Women’s Empowerment Network
  • Brock Carlton, CEO of Federation of Canadian Municipalities
  • Catherine Ludgate, Manager of Community Investment at Vancity
  • Carole RicherSocial Development advisor for the Maria-Chapdelaine Regional County Municipality
  • Carlos BealsCase Work Manager with Ceasefire Halifax
  • Céline BellotDirector of the School of Social Work at the Université de Montréal
  • Derek CookCanadian Poverty Institute at Ambrose University
  • Éric Lapointe,  Board Member of the Corporation de développement économique communautaire de Québec
  • Indivar Dutta-GuptaCo-Executive Director at the Georgetown Center on Poverty and Inequality
  • John StapletonCommissioner with the Ontario Soldiers’ Aid Commission
  • Joseph J. AmosManager for the Inuvik Emergency Warming Centre
  • Lanna Many Grey HorsesManager of Women and Children’s Services for The Bloom Group Community Services Society
  • Louise SimbandumweCo-Director of Supporting Employment and Economic Development (SEED) Winnipeg
  • Munir SheikhAdjunct Research Professor at Carleton University
  • Nahid AboumansourExecutive Director of Petites-Mains
  • Richard ReevesCo-Director of the Center on Children and Families at Brookings Institute

For More Info