Nominate Your Housing Co-op for the CHF Canada Award for Co-operative Achievement

March 7, 2017

The Award for Co-operative AchievementThe Award for Co-operative Achievement is a prestigious award that recognizes an inspiring achievement by a Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada (CHF Canada) member and creates a lasting legacy. The Award champions co-operative principles, co-operative housing and CHF Canada by celebrating our values in action.

If your housing co‑op or another member organization has a success story to share, consider nominating it for some national recognition! April 1st is the deadline to nominate your co‑op (or another co‑op) for CHF Canada’s Award for Co-operative Achievement with a plaque and $2,500 to be presented on stage at the 2017 Annual Meeting in Niagara Falls.

Last year, at the 2016 AGM in Hamilton, Unified Saint John Housing Co-op was honored with this award. After four years of community consultations and meetings, eight Saint John area co‑ops merged to form the new co‑op with 252 units of affordable housing about 400 members. The new co‑op benefits from economies of scale. Unified Saint John also benefits from a larger pool of households for its elected leadership.


To be honoured with the Award for Co-operative Achievement, a co-op must fulfill one or more of the following criteria:

  • Exceptional commitment to the values of the international co-operative movement
  • Outstanding achievement in co-operative governance and/or management
  • Dedication to social change, community development and/or environmental sustainability
  • Significant engagement of young co-operative members or those members from underrepresented groups (diversity), or support of aging in place measures

How to Apply

The deadline for applications is April 1st. The winner will be honored at CHF Canada’s AGM and rewarded $2,500. For more information, please contact Cynthia Mitchell, Program Manager, Member Engagement, at 1-800-465-2752 ext. 226, fax 613-230-2231, or email .

Apply for the CHF Canada Award for Co-operative Achievement