Nominations Now Open for the 2013 Social Finance Awards

July 17, 2013

The Social Finance Awards is an annual award series hosted by The awards are presented to leaders who are playing a pivotal role in catalyzing the Canadian social finance marketplace.

The awards showcase and celebrate the efforts that individuals and organizations are making to mobilize private capital for public good. Too often these efforts go unnoticed, and there exists an opportunity to inspire action in this field by highlighting the stories of these leaders.

Last year, we celebrated the Most Promising New Financial Player in the Canadian social finance landscape.  Over 2,500 voters cast their votes to determine the winner of the Social Finance Award for 2012 as the RBC Generator Fund with the Casse d’économie solidaire: Desjardins as the second place finalist, and the Toronto Atmospheric Fund as the third place finalist. 

We are excited to announce this year’s theme for the Social Finance Innovator Award as the “Most Promising Collaboration” in the Canadian social finance landscape. 

This year, will present two types of awards. 

  • Social Finance Innovator Award: is an annual people’s choice award that recognizes trailblazing innovators in the Canadian social finance landscape based on a theme selected by
  • Social Finance Excellence Awards: are a series of awards that will recognize players who have demonstrated a strong commitment to building the social finance sector in Canada.  The winner of each award will be determined by based on a predetermined set of data-based criteria

The Award Process

If you are, or you know, an individual or organization that should be recognized for their leadership in impact investing in Canada, be sure to nominate them.

Not sure if you qualify for one of the award categories? Check the detailed Innovator Award criteria and Excellence award criteria that will serve as the basis for determining the award winners.  You can also contact us at for more information about the award criteria or winner determination process.

Award Timeline

Nominations for Innovator and Excellence awards will be accepted during July and August

Judging of Innovator award nominees will take place between August and September

Finalists for Innovator and Excellence awards will be informed by the end of September

Public Voting for the Innovator award finalists will take place in October and November

Announcement of all award winners will take place at the MaRS Centre for Impact Investing’s impact 8 Demo Day

Read more